June 2015 Minutes


The meeting was called to order by President Bob McLaren at 11:00 a.m. at the Community Church of Honolulu. Present: Bob McLaren, Iris Chung, Bev Drill, Katie Fagan, Mary Farrell, Naomi Nortman. Excused: Mary Phillips. Lily Johnnessen, Bill Pearman.

MINUTES: The minutes of the May 10, 2015 meeting were approved as circulated and will be uploaded to the website.

TREASURER’S REPORT: Cash balance @ May 31, 2015: $12,847. Operating Loss thru May 31, 2015: $1,541.

CLUB & TOURNAMENT CHAIR REPORT: While Bev is away, Bob and Katie will make the necessary announcements regarding the Unit games. ACBL has approved the program for the Aloha Sectional. Bob Liu will take photos of The Longest Day . The Election Swiss will be held on December 5, 2015 at the Community Church of Honolulu from 9AM to 5PM. Lunch will be provided. Bev will call Kauai regarding the Kauai Sectional dates. Arun Savara made a donation to the Unit to hold a special Sectional game in honor of Oded Stitt. The Board decided to have an Oded Stitt Swiss Teams game at the Kamehameha (July) Sectional. The Board will continue discussion relative to the naming of games. Further, the Board decided that future Boards should have flexibility on this issue. Henceforth, there will be no permanently designated games.

HOSPITALITY CHAIR REPORT: Since the Election Swiss will be held at the Community Church of Honolulu, Katie is considering several possibilities for lunch. Mary Farrell will order and deliver the cake for the Kamehameha Sectional Sunday Swiss dessert.

PUBLICITY CHAIR REPORT: The flyer for the Aloha Sectional will be printed and distributed after the conclusion of the Kamehameha Sectional.

OLD BUSINESS: Iris ordered the new tables and Mary Phillips accepted delivery. The tables are already in use. Bob will follow up on the purchase of the PA system.

NEW BUSINESS: The following section process for the Milton Kim awardee will be discussed at the next Board meeting: The selection will be made by a committee composed of the last three (3) recipients…i.e. Ann Bernson (2014), Muriel Stitt (2013) and Glenn Mason (2012). The chair will be the middle awardee...Muriel Stitt. The Committee is free to make its own selection or may request suggestions from the membership and make its selection from that list. Online partnership desk: Ruben is trying to work something out with Manny to see if we can use our Website for this purpose.

NEXT MEETING: July 26, 2015. 11:00 AM . ALA WAI CLUB HOUSE

Respectfully submitted. Iris Chung